Featured Database – Newsbank: America’s Newspapers

Image

PJStar

Access the Peoria Journal Star online by clicking here!

To search and read newspapers from throughout Illinois, click here.

To access newspapers from throughout the country, including the Wall Street Journal, Peoria Journal Star, USA Today, and Washington Post, click here. 

New to E-Books or Need Help?

  DPLD offers e-book and e-reader workshops; check the event calendar to see what we have coming up. Sign up for a one-on-one tutorial for help with your device. If you are reading e-books on certain e-readers, you’ll need to download Adobe Digital Editions. If you are using an Apple or Android mobile device, tablet, Kindle Fire, or Nook Tablet, you’ll need to download the OverDrive Media Console App. See a list of compatible devices.

CACTUS Club @ Your Library

Image

Creative Artists & Crafters Tackle Unfinished Stuff Club

128px-Green_Wave_(4639825757) cactus

Usually the 1st Friday of the month from 10:00 until noon (drop-in style).

Our next meeting will be on April 7!

Our challenge (if you choose to participate) is to create something with leprechauns or a Celtic theme!

We provide the tables…you bring your unfinished projects to work on. Meet others to share ideas & learn new techniques!

Hope you can join us. Bring a friend!

Knit & Stitch @ Your Library

Image

MP900289300[1]

Meet new people as you work on a fresh project or
finish that UFO that’s been sitting around a while. New knitters and crocheters and other needle crafters welcome…friendly help is here!

Usually the 2nd Friday of the month 10:30 – 11:30 a.m.

Our next meeting will be on Friday, April 14.

Yoga @ Your Library

Image

Woman Sitting in Meditation

Monday & Wednesday evenings 5:30 – 6:30

Tuesday & Thursday mornings 8:45 – 9:45

Never the same twice! Enjoy the diversity of yoga.

Bring a yoga mat or towel, and a water bottle.

Instructor led classes.

 

Chair Yoga @ Your Library

Image

chair yoga 2

Thursdays 2:00 – 2:45 pm

Interested in trying yoga, but don’t think your body can? Well, this class is for you!

Chairs provided. No mat needed. Wear comfortable clothing.

Instructor led.

“Who Picked This?” Book Club

Image

Title: Me Before You (Movie Tie-In), Author: Jojo Moyes

Our next read will be Me Before You by Jojo Moyesto be discussed on Tuesday, April18.

They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . .

Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.

Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.

A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?

–Barnes & Noble

7•Ups Book Club

Image

This group meets on the 4th Thursday at 11:00 during February, March, April, May, August, September, and October.

Title: Mistress of the Art of Death (Mistress of the Art of Death Series #1), Author: Ariana Franklin

On Thursday, October 27 we’ll be discussing Mistress of the Art of Death by Ariana Franklin

Synopsis from Barnes & Noble…

The national bestselling hit hailed by the New York Times as a “vibrant medieval mystery…[it] outdoes the competition.”

In medieval Cambridge, England, Adelia, a female forensics expert, is summoned by King Henry II to investigate a series of gruesome murders that has wrongly implicated the Jewish population, yielding even more tragic results. As Adelia’s investigation takes her behind the closed doors of the country’s churches, the killer prepares to strike again.