Book Discussion Groups

Cozy Little Book Club

Kelly : February 16, 2017 1:52 pm : Book Groups

Be part of the newest book club at the Dunlap Public Library!

Do you enjoy a light and entertaining read?  We do too!

We’ll meet on the first Wednesday of every month at 11:00 am.

Wednesday, May 3 at 11:00

Stay after our book discussion to watch the first episode of the PBS production of Death Comes to Pemberley!

Death Comes to Pemberley by P.D. James

In their six years of marriage, Elizabeth and Darcy have forged a peaceful, happy life for their family at Pemberley, Darcy’s impressive estate. Her father is a regular visitor; her sister Jane and her husband, Bingley, live nearby; the marriage prospects for Darcy’s sister, Georgiana, are favorable. And preparations for their annual autumn ball are proceeding apace. But on the eve of the ball, chaos descends. Lydia Wickham, Elizabeth’s disgraced sister who, with her husband, has been barred from the estate, arrives in a hysterical state—shrieking that Wickham has been murdered.  Plunged into frightening mystery and a lurid murder trial, the lives of Pemberley’s owners and servants alike may never be the same.

Amazon

Comments are closed

Walk-n-Talk Book Club

Kelly : July 19, 2016 10:56 am : Adult Events, Book Groups

Meets the 4th Thursday of the month, January – October at 10:00 am.

We’ll walk the trail and discuss books!

Title: Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance, Author: Angela Duckworth

Join us on Thursday, April 27 at 10:00 am to discuss Grit by Angela Duckworth.

In this instant New York Times bestseller, pioneering psychologist Angela Duckworth shows anyone striving to succeed—be it parents, students, educators, athletes, or business people—that the secret to outstanding achievement is not talent but a special blend of passion and persistence she calls “grit.”

Drawing on her own powerful story as the daughter of a scientist who frequently noted her lack of “genius,” Duckworth, now a celebrated researcher and professor, describes her early eye-opening stints in teaching, business consulting, and neuroscience, which led to the hypothesis that what really drives success is not “genius” but a unique combination of passion and long-term perseverance.

In Grit, she takes readers into the field to visit cadets struggling through their first days at West Point, teachers working in some of the toughest schools, and young finalists in the National Spelling Bee. She also mines fascinating insights from history and shows what can be gleaned from modern experiments in peak performance. Finally, she shares what she’s learned from interviewing dozens of high achievers—from JP Morgan CEO Jamie Dimon to New Yorker cartoon editor Bob Mankoff to Seattle Seahawks Coach Pete Carroll.

Among Grit’s most valuable insights:

*Why any effort you make ultimately counts twice toward your goal
*How grit can be learned, regardless of I.Q. or circumstances
*How lifelong interest is triggered
*How much of optimal practice is suffering and how much ecstasy
*Which is better for your child—a warm embrace or high standards
*The magic of the Hard Thing Rule

Winningly personal, insightful, and even life-changing, Grit is a book about what goes through your head when you fall down, and how that—not talent or luck—makes all the difference.

–Barnes & Noble

Comments are closed

YA for All Book Club

Ashley : September 30, 2015 4:43 pm : Book Groups

Meets at Barnes & Noble Cafe on the second Tuesday of every month! Join in the discussion of great Young Adult titles everyone can enjoy. Eat, Drink, and Be Merry!

Tuesday, May 9, 6:30 PM  

A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir

Location:  Barnes and Noble Cafe

 

Amazon Book Description:

After the events of the Fourth Trial, Martial soldiers hunt the two fugitives as they flee the city of Serra and undertake a perilous journey through the heart of the Empire.

Laia is determined to break into Kauf—the Empire’s most secure and dangerous prison—to save her brother, who is the key to the Scholars’ survival. And Elias is determined to help Laia succeed, even if it means giving up his last chance at freedom.

But dark forces, human and otherworldly, work against Laia and Elias. The pair must fight every step of the way to outsmart their enemies: the bloodthirsty Emperor Marcus, the merciless Commandant, the sadistic Warden of Kauf, and, most heartbreaking of all, Helene—Elias’s former friend and the Empire’s newest Blood Shrike.

Bound to Marcus’s will, Helene faces a torturous mission of her own—one that might destroy her: find the traitor Elias Veturius and the Scholar slave who helped him escape…and kill them both.

June 13 title:  A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

Comments are closed

An Hour to Kill Book Club

Kelly : August 15, 2015 2:05 pm : Book Groups

Meets every other month on the 2nd Monday in January, March, May, July, September, & November @ 6:30 pm.

Love mystery & suspense? Join us on Monday evening, May 8 at 6:30!

We will be discussing The Trespasser by Tana French.

In bestselling Tana French’s newest “tour de force,”* being on the Murder squad is nothing like Detective Antoinette Conway dreamed it would be. Her partner, Stephen Moran, is the only person who seems glad she’s there. The rest of her working life is a stream of thankless cases, vicious pranks, and harassment. Antoinette is savagely tough, but she’s getting close to the breaking point.

Their new case looks like yet another by-the-numbers lovers’ quarrel gone bad. Aislinn Murray is blond, pretty, groomed to a shine, and dead in her catalogue-perfect living room, next to a table set for a romantic dinner. There’s nothing unusual about her—except that Antoinette’s seen her somewhere before.

And that her death won’t stay in its neat by-numbers box. Other detectives are trying to push Antoinette and Steve into arresting Aislinn’s boyfriend, fast. There’s a shadowy figure at the end of Antoinette’s road. Aislinn’s friend is hinting that she knew Aislinn was in danger. And everything they find out about Aislinn takes her further from the glossy, passive doll she seemed to be.

Antoinette knows the harassment has turned her paranoid, but she can’t tell just how far gone she is. Is this case another step in the campaign to force her off the squad, or are there darker currents flowing beneath its polished surface?

– Amazon

July 10 –  The Crossing Places by Elly Griffiths

September 11 – All Is Not Forgotten by Wendy Walker

November 13 – The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie

 

Comments are closed

“Who Picked This?” Book Club

Melissa : April 11, 2014 3:55 pm : Adult Events, Book Groups

Title: A Canticle for Leibowitz, Author: Walter Miller

Our next read will be A Canticle for Leibowitz by Walter M. Miller to be discussed on Tuesday, May 16.

Overview

In the depths of the Utah desert, long after the Flame Deluge has scoured the earth clean, a monk of the Order of Saint Leibowitz has made a miraculous discovery: holy relics from the life of the great saint himself, including the blessed blueprint, the sacred shopping list, and the hallowed shrine of the Fallout Shelter.

In a terrifying age of darkness and decay, these artifacts could be the keys to mankind’s salvation. But as the mystery at the core of this groundbreaking novel unfolds, it is the search itself—for meaning, for truth, for love—that offers hope for humanity’s rebirth from the ashes.

–Barnes & Noble

Comments are closed

Monday Morning Book Club

Melissa : April 11, 2014 3:48 pm : Adult Events, Book Groups

Kids play while the adults discuss the book club selection!  We usually meet on the 2nd Monday at 9:30 in the morning.

    Title: Lilac Girls: A Novel, Author: Martha Hall Kelly

Our next book is Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly that we’ll discuss at 9:30 on Monday, May 1.

Overview

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of The Nightingale and Sarah’s Key, inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this remarkable debut novel reveals the power of unsung women to change history in their quest for love, freedom, and second chances.

New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her post at the French consulate and a new love on the horizon. But Caroline’s world is forever changed when Hitler’s army invades Poland in September 1939—and then sets its sights on France.

An ocean away from Caroline, Kasia Kuzmerick, a Polish teenager, senses her carefree youth disappearing as she is drawn deeper into her role as courier for the underground resistance movement. In a tense atmosphere of watchful eyes and suspecting neighbors, one false move can have dire consequences.

For the ambitious young German doctor, Herta Oberheuser, an ad for a government medical position seems her ticket out of a desolate life. Once hired, though, she finds herself trapped in a male-dominated realm of Nazi secrets and power.

The lives of these three women are set on a collision course when the unthinkable happens and Kasia is sent to Ravensbrück, the notorious Nazi concentration camp for women. Their stories cross continents—from New York to Paris, Germany, and Poland—as Caroline and Kasia strive to bring justice to those whom history has forgotten.

– Barnes & Noble

Comments are closed

Page Turners

Kelly : April 11, 2014 3:44 pm : Adult Events, Book Groups

Meets on the first Thursday of the month at 1 pm.

Thursday, May 4 at 1:00!

City of Women by David R. Gillham

It is 1943—the height of the Second World War. With the men away at the front, Berlin has become a city of women.

On the surface, Sigrid Schröder is the model German soldier’s wife: She goes to work every day, does as much with her rations as she can, and dutifully cares for her meddling mother-in-law, all the while ignoring the horrific immoralities of the regime.

But behind this façade is an entirely different Sigrid, a woman of passion who dreams of her former Jewish lover, now lost in the chaos of the war. But Sigrid is not the only one with secrets—she soon finds herself caught between what is right and what is wrong, and what falls somewhere in the shadows between the two . . .

– Amazon

JUNE 1 – Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë    *Movie showing at 11:00!

JULY 6 –Vinegar Girl by Anne Tyler

AUGUST 3 – One Thousand White Women: The Journals of May Dodd by Jim Fergus

SEPTEMBER 7 – Dead Wake: The Last Crossing of the Lusitania by Erik Larson      *Movie showing at 11:30!

OCTOBER 5 – TBD

NOVEMBER 2 – TBD

DECEMBER 7 – TBD

more »

Comments are closed
« Page 1 »