Book Discussion Groups

Cozy Little Book Club

Kelly : February 16, 2017 1:52 pm : Book Groups

Be part of the newest book club at the Dunlap Public Library!

Do you enjoy a light and entertaining read?  We do too!

We’ll meet on the first Wednesday of every month at 11:00 am.

Wednesday, April 5 

A Murder is Announced by Agatha Christie

An announcement in the local paper states the time and place when a murder is to occur in Miss Blacklock’s Victorian house. The victim is not one of the house’s several occupants, but an unexpected and unknown visitor. What follows is a classic Christie puzzle of mixed motives, concealed identities, a second death, a determined Inspector grimly following the twists and turns, and Miss Marple on hand to provide the final solution at some risk to herself in a dramatic confrontation just before the final curtain.

Amazon

Comments are closed

Walk-n-Talk Book Club

Kelly : July 19, 2016 10:56 am : Adult Events, Book Groups

Meets the 4th Thursday of the month, January – October at 10:00 am.

We’ll walk the trail and discuss books!

Title: Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance, Author: Angela Duckworth

Join us on Thursday, April 27 at 10:00 am to discuss Grit by Angela Duckworth.

In this instant New York Times bestseller, pioneering psychologist Angela Duckworth shows anyone striving to succeed—be it parents, students, educators, athletes, or business people—that the secret to outstanding achievement is not talent but a special blend of passion and persistence she calls “grit.”

Drawing on her own powerful story as the daughter of a scientist who frequently noted her lack of “genius,” Duckworth, now a celebrated researcher and professor, describes her early eye-opening stints in teaching, business consulting, and neuroscience, which led to the hypothesis that what really drives success is not “genius” but a unique combination of passion and long-term perseverance.

In Grit, she takes readers into the field to visit cadets struggling through their first days at West Point, teachers working in some of the toughest schools, and young finalists in the National Spelling Bee. She also mines fascinating insights from history and shows what can be gleaned from modern experiments in peak performance. Finally, she shares what she’s learned from interviewing dozens of high achievers—from JP Morgan CEO Jamie Dimon to New Yorker cartoon editor Bob Mankoff to Seattle Seahawks Coach Pete Carroll.

Among Grit’s most valuable insights:

*Why any effort you make ultimately counts twice toward your goal
*How grit can be learned, regardless of I.Q. or circumstances
*How lifelong interest is triggered
*How much of optimal practice is suffering and how much ecstasy
*Which is better for your child—a warm embrace or high standards
*The magic of the Hard Thing Rule

Winningly personal, insightful, and even life-changing, Grit is a book about what goes through your head when you fall down, and how that—not talent or luck—makes all the difference.

–Barnes & Noble

Comments are closed

YA for All Book Club

Ashley : September 30, 2015 4:43 pm : Book Groups

Meets at Barnes & Noble Cafe on the second Tuesday of every month! Join in the discussion of great Young Adult titles everyone can enjoy. Eat, Drink, and Be Merry!

Tuesday, April 11, 6:30 PM  

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

Location:  Barnes and Noble Cafe

 

Amazon Book Description:

Laia is a slave. Elias is a soldier. Neither is free.

Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. Those who do not vow their blood and bodies to the Emperor risk the execution of their loved ones and the destruction of all they hold dear.

It is in this brutal world, inspired by ancient Rome, that Laia lives with her grandparents and older brother. The family ekes out an existence in the Empire’s impoverished backstreets. They do not challenge the Empire. They’ve seen what happens to those who do.

But when Laia’s brother is arrested for treason, Laia is forced to make a decision. In exchange for help from rebels who promise to rescue her brother, she will risk her life to spy for them from within the Empire’s greatest military academy.

There, Laia meets Elias, the school’s finest soldier—and secretly, its most unwilling. Elias wants only to be free of the tyranny he’s being trained to enforce. He and Laia will soon realize that their destinies are intertwined—and that their choices will change the fate of the Empire itself.

Comments are closed

An Hour to Kill Book Club

Kelly : August 15, 2015 2:05 pm : Book Groups

Meets every other month on the 2nd Monday in January, March, May, July, September, & November @ 6:30 pm.

Love mystery & suspense? Join us on Monday evening, May 8 at 6:30!

We will be discussing The Trespasser by Tana French.

In bestselling Tana French’s newest “tour de force,”* being on the Murder squad is nothing like Detective Antoinette Conway dreamed it would be. Her partner, Stephen Moran, is the only person who seems glad she’s there. The rest of her working life is a stream of thankless cases, vicious pranks, and harassment. Antoinette is savagely tough, but she’s getting close to the breaking point.

Their new case looks like yet another by-the-numbers lovers’ quarrel gone bad. Aislinn Murray is blond, pretty, groomed to a shine, and dead in her catalogue-perfect living room, next to a table set for a romantic dinner. There’s nothing unusual about her—except that Antoinette’s seen her somewhere before.

And that her death won’t stay in its neat by-numbers box. Other detectives are trying to push Antoinette and Steve into arresting Aislinn’s boyfriend, fast. There’s a shadowy figure at the end of Antoinette’s road. Aislinn’s friend is hinting that she knew Aislinn was in danger. And everything they find out about Aislinn takes her further from the glossy, passive doll she seemed to be.

Antoinette knows the harassment has turned her paranoid, but she can’t tell just how far gone she is. Is this case another step in the campaign to force her off the squad, or are there darker currents flowing beneath its polished surface?

– Amazon

July 10 –  The Crossing Places by Elly Griffiths

September 11 – All Is Not Forgotten by Wendy Walker

November 13 – The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie

 

Comments are closed

“Who Picked This?” Book Club

Melissa : April 11, 2014 3:55 pm : Adult Events, Book Groups

Title: Me Before You (Movie Tie-In), Author: Jojo Moyes

Our next read will be Me Before You by Jojo Moyesto be discussed on Tuesday, April18.

They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . .

Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.

Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.

A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?

–Barnes & Noble

Comments are closed

Monday Morning Book Club

Melissa : April 11, 2014 3:48 pm : Adult Events, Book Groups

Kids play while the adults discuss the book club selection!  We usually meet on the 2nd Monday at 9:30 in the morning.

    Title: The War That Saved My Life, Author: Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

Our next book is The War That Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley that we’ll discuss at 9:30 on Monday, April 10.

Overview

*2016 Newbery Honor book
*Winner of the 2016 Schneider Family Book Award

This New York Times bestseller is an exceptionally moving story of triumph against all odds set during World War 2. For fans of Counting by 7s.

Nine-year-old Ada has never left her one-room apartment. Her mother is too humiliated by Ada’s twisted foot to let her outside. So when her little brother Jamie is shipped out of London to escape the war, Ada doesn’t waste a minute—she sneaks out to join him. So begins a new adventure of Ada, and for Susan Smith, the woman who is forced to take the two kids in. As Ada teaches herself to ride a pony, learns to read, and watches for German spies, she begins to trust Susan—and Susan begins to love Ada and Jamie.

– Barnes & Noble

Comments are closed

Page Turners

Kelly : April 11, 2014 3:44 pm : Adult Events, Book Groups

Meets on the first Thursday of the month at 1 pm.

Thursday, April 6 at 1:00!

Lab Girl by Hope Jahren

Geobiologist Hope Jahren has spent her life studying trees, flowers, seeds, and soil. Lab Girl is her revelatory treatise on plant life—but it is also a celebration of the lifelong curiosity, humility, and passion that drive every scientist. In these pages, Hope takes us back to her Minnesota childhood, where she spent hours in unfettered play in her father’s college laboratory. She tells us how she found a sanctuary in science, learning to perform lab work “with both the heart and the hands.” She introduces us to Bill, her brilliant, eccentric lab manager. And she extends the mantle of scientist to each one of her readers, inviting us to join her in observing and protecting our environment. Warm, luminous, compulsively readable, Lab Girl vividly demonstrates the mountains that we can move when love and work come together.

– Amazon

MAY 4 – City of Women by David R. Gillham

JUNE 1 – Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

JULY 6 –Vinegar Girl by Anne Tyler

AUGUST 3 – One Thousand White Women: The Journals of May Dodd by Jim Fergus

SEPTEMBER 7 – Dead Wake: The Last Crossing of the Lusitania by Erik Larson

OCTOBER 5 – TBD

NOVEMBER 2 – TBD

DECEMBER 7 – TBD

more »

Comments are closed
« Page 1 »