Book Discussion Groups

Cozy Little Book Club

Kelly : February 16, 2017 1:52 pm : Adult Events, Book Groups

Be part of the newest book club at the Dunlap Public Library!

Do you enjoy a light and entertaining read?  We do too!

We’ll meet on the first Wednesday of every month at 11:00 am.

Wednesday, June 7 at 11:00

Her Royal Spyness by Rhys Bowen

London 1932. Lady Victoria Georgiana Charlotte Eugenie, 34th in line for the throne, is flat broke. She bolted from Scotland — and engagement to Fishface (Prince Stiegfriend) — for London, where she has:

a) built a fire in the hearth
b) fallen for an absolutely unsuitable Irish peer
c) made a few quid housekeeping incognita, and
d) been summoned by the Queen to spy on her playboy son

When an arrogant Frenchman trying to swipe her family estate winds up dead in her bathtub, how can she clear her very long family name?

Goodreads

Comments are closed

Walk-n-Talk Book Club

Kelly : July 19, 2016 10:56 am : Adult Events, Book Groups

Meets the 4th Thursday of the month, January – October at 10:00 am.

We’ll walk the trail and discuss books!

Title: A Piece of the World, Author: Christina Baker Kline

Join us on Thursday, June 22 at 10:00 am to discuss A Piece of the World by Christina Baker Kline.

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“Graceful, moving and powerful.”

–Michael Chabon, New York Times bestselling author of Moonglow

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the smash bestseller Orphan Train, a stunning and atmospheric novel of friendship, passion, and art, inspired by Andrew Wyeth’s mysterious and iconic painting Christina’s World.

“Later he told me that he’d been afraid to show me the painting. He thought I wouldn’t like the way he portrayed me: dragging myself across the field, fingers clutching dirt, my legs twisted behind. The arid moonscape of wheatgrass and timothy. That dilapidated house in the distance, looming up like a secret that won’t stay hidden.”

To Christina Olson, the entire world was her family’s remote farm in the small coastal town of Cushing, Maine. Born in the home her family had lived in for generations, and increasingly incapacitated by illness, Christina seemed destined for a small life. Instead, for more than twenty years, she was host and inspiration for the artist Andrew Wyeth, and became the subject of one of the best known American paintings of the twentieth century.

As she did in her beloved smash bestseller Orphan Train, Christina Baker Kline interweaves fact and fiction in a powerful novel that illuminates a little-known part of America’s history. Bringing into focus the flesh-and-blood woman behind the portrait, she vividly imagines the life of a woman with a complicated relationship to her family and her past, and a special bond with one of our greatest modern artists.

Told in evocative and lucid prose, A Piece of the World is a story about the burdens and blessings of family history, and how artist and muse can come together to forge a new and timeless legacy.

–Barnes & Noble

Comments are closed

YA for All Book Club

Ashley : September 30, 2015 4:43 pm : Book Groups

Meets at Barnes & Noble Cafe on the second Tuesday of every month! Join in the discussion of great Young Adult titles everyone can enjoy. Eat, Drink, and Be Merry!

Tuesday, June 13, 6:30 PM  

A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

Location:  Barnes and Noble Cafe

 

Amazon Book Description:

The first book in a witty, suspenseful new trilogy about a brilliant new crime-solving duo: the teen descendants of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. This clever page-turner will appeal to fans of Maureen Johnson and Ally Carter.

Jamie Watson has always been intrigued by Charlotte Holmes; after all, their great-great-great-grandfathers are one of the most infamous pairs in history. But the Holmes family has always been odd, and Charlotte is no exception. She’s inherited Sherlock’s volatility and some of his vices—and when Jamie and Charlotte end up at the same Connecticut boarding school, Charlotte makes it clear she’s not looking for friends.

But when a student they both have a history with dies under suspicious circumstances, ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Sherlock Holmes stories, Jamie can no longer afford to keep his distance. Danger is mounting and nowhere is safe—and the only people they can trust are each other.

July 11 title: Smoke Gets in Your Eyes: And Other Lessons from the Crematory
by Caitlin Doughty

Comments are closed

An Hour to Kill Book Club

Kelly : August 15, 2015 2:05 pm : Adult Events, Book Groups

Meets every other month on the 2nd Monday in January, March, May, July, September, & November @ 6:30 pm.

Love mystery & suspense? Join us on Monday evening, July 10 at 6:30!

We will be discussing The Crossing Places by Elly Griffiths

The first entry in the acclaimed Ruth Galloway series follows the “captivating”* archaeologist as she investigates a child’s bones found on a nearby beach, thought to be the remains of a little girl who went missing ten years before.

Forensic archeologist Dr. Ruth Galloway is in her late thirties. She lives happily alone with her two cats in a bleak, remote area near Norfolk, land that was sacred to its Iron Age inhabitants—not quite earth, not quite sea. But her routine days of digging up bones and other ancient objects are harshly upended when a child’s bones are found on a desolate beach. Detective Chief Inspector Nelson calls Galloway for help, believing they are the remains of Lucy Downey, a little girl who went missing a decade ago and whose abductor continues to taunt him with bizarre letters containing references to ritual sacrifice, Shakespeare, and the Bible. Then a second girl goes missing and Nelson receives a new letter—exactly like the ones about Lucy.

Is it the same killer? Or a copycat murderer, linked in some way to the site near Ruth’s remote home?

– Amazon

September 11 – All Is Not Forgotten by Wendy Walker

November 13 – The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie

 

Comments are closed

“Who Picked This?” Book Club

Melissa : April 11, 2014 3:55 pm : Adult Events, Book Groups

 

Our next read will be The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern to be discussed on Tuesday, June 20.

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night.

But behind the scenes, a fierce competition is underway: a duel between two young magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood expressly for this purpose by their mercurial instructors. Unbeknownst to them both, this is a game in which only one can be left standing. Despite the high stakes, Celia and Marco soon tumble headfirst into love, setting off a domino effect of dangerous consequences, and leaving the lives of everyone, from the performers to the patrons, hanging in the balance.

–Amazon

Comments are closed

Monday Morning Book Club

Melissa : April 11, 2014 3:48 pm : Adult Events, Book Groups

 

Kids play while the adults discuss the book club selection!  We usually meet on the 2nd Monday at 9:30 in the morning. 

Our next book is Finding Wonders:  Three Girls Who Changed Science by Jeannine Atkins that we’ll discuss at 9:30 on Monday, August 21.

A gorgeously written novel in verse about three girls in three different time periods who grew up to become groundbreaking scientists.

Maria Merian was sure that caterpillars were not wicked things born from mud, as most people of her time believed. Through careful observation she discovered the truth about metamorphosis and documented her findings in gorgeous paintings of the life cycles of insects.

More than a century later, Mary Anning helped her father collect stone sea creatures from the cliffs in southwest England. To him they were merely a source of income, but to Mary they held a stronger fascination. Intrepid and patient, she eventually discovered fossils that would change people’s vision of the past.

Across the ocean, Maria Mitchell helped her mapmaker father in the whaling village of Nantucket. At night they explored the starry sky through his telescope. Maria longed to discover a new comet—and after years of studying the night sky, she finally did.

Told in vibrant, evocative poems, this stunning novel celebrates the joy of discovery and finding wonder in the world around us.

– Amazon

Comments are closed

Page Turners

Kelly : April 11, 2014 3:44 pm : Adult Events, Book Groups

Meets on the first Thursday of the month at 1 pm.

Thursday, July 6 at 1:00!

Vinegar Girl by Anne Tyler

Pulitzer Prize winner and American master Anne Tyler brings us an inspired, witty and irresistible contemporary take on one of Shakespeare’s most beloved comedies

Kate Battista feels stuck. How did she end up running house and home for her eccentric scientist father and uppity, pretty younger sister Bunny? Plus, she’s always in trouble at work – her pre-school charges adore her, but their parents don’t always appreciate her unusual opinions and forthright manner.

Dr. Battista has other problems. After years out in the academic wilderness, he is on the verge of a breakthrough. His research could help millions. There’s only one problem: his brilliant young lab assistant, Pyotr, is about to be deported. And without Pyotr, all would be lost.

When Dr. Battista cooks up an outrageous plan that will enable Pyotr to stay in the country, he’s relying – as usual – on Kate to help him. Kate is furious: this time he’s really asking too much. But will she be able to resist the two men’s touchingly ludicrous campaign to bring her around?

Amazon

AUGUST 3 – One Thousand White Women: The Journals of May Dodd by Jim Fergus

SEPTEMBER 7 – Dead Wake: The Last Crossing of the Lusitania by Erik Larson      *Movie showing at 11:30!

OCTOBER 5 – TBD

NOVEMBER 2 – TBD

DECEMBER 7 – TBD

more »

Comments are closed
« Page 1 »